Federal and State holidays in United States of America [US] in the year 2017 and 2018.

Upcoming Holidays
Date Holiday Where
October-24, TuesdayBirthday of William PennPennsylvania
October-27, FridayFrances Willard DaySouth Carolina
October-27, FridayNevada DayNevada
October-28, SaturdayVirginia Drug Free DayVirginia
October-31, TuesdayUNICEF Day New Jersey
October-31, TuesdayYouth Honor DayIowa
November-1, WednesdayAll Saint's DayLouisiana
November-1, WednesdayMaryland Emancipation DayMaryland
November-2, ThursdaySouth Dakota Statehood DaySouth Dakota
November-3, FridayArbor DayHawaii, Texas
Click for more November 2017 US Holidays
The U.S. federal government only has constitutional jurisdiction to establish holidays for itself, for certain federally chartered and regulated businesses (such as federal banks), and for Washington, D.C.; otherwise, constitutional authority to create public holidays is a power reserved to the states. Most states also allow local jurisdictions (cities, villages, etc.) to establish their own local holidays. However, as a general rule other institutions, including banks, post offices, and schools, may be closed on federal holidays.
Federal Holidays 2017
No Date Day Holiday
1 January 2 Monday New Year’s Day *
2 January 16 Monday Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
3 February 20 Monday Washington’s Birthday **
4 May 29 Monday Memorial Day
5 July 4 Tuesday Independence Day
6 September 4 Monday Labor Day
7 October 9 Monday Columbus Day
8 November 10 Friday Veterans Day ***
9 November 23 Thursday Thanksgiving Day
10 December 25 Monday Christmas Day
*
January 1, 2017 (the legal public holiday for New Year’s Day), falls on a Sunday. For most Federal employees, Monday, January 2, will be treated as a holiday for pay and leave purposes.
**
This holiday is designated as "Washington’s Birthday" in section 6103(a) of title 5 of the United States Code, which is the law that specifies holidays for Federal employees.
***
November 11, 2017 (the legal public holiday for Veterans Day), falls on a Saturday. For most Federal employees, Friday, November 10, will be treated as a holiday for pay and leave purposes.
Federal Holidays 2018
No Date Day Holiday
1 January 1 Monday New Year's Day
2 January 15 Monday Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
3 February 19 Monday Washington's Birthday *
4 May 28 Monday Memorial Day
5 July 4 Wednesday Independence Day
6 September 3 Monday Labor Day
7 October 8 Monday Columbus Day
8 November 12 Monday Veteran's Day **
9 November 22 Thursday Thanksgiving Day
10 December 25 Tuesday Christmas
*
This holiday is designated as "Washington’s Birthday" in section 6103(a) of title 5 of the United States Code, which is the law that specifies holidays for Federal employees.
**
November 11, 2018 (the legal public holiday for Veterans Day), falls on a Sunday. For most Federal employees, Monday, November 12, will be treated as a holiday for pay and leave purposes.