Check Federal and State holidays in US for 2016 and 2017 .

Upcoming Holidays
Date Holiday Where
September-27, TuesdayArizona first responders' day of gratitude and remembranceArizona
September-27, TuesdayFirst Responder Appreciation DayOregon
September-28, WednesdayCabrillo DayCalifornia
September-30, FridayAmerican Indian Heritage DayTexas
October-1, SaturdayChildren and Youth DayHawaii
Click for more October 2016 US Holidays
The U.S. federal government only has constitutional jurisdiction to establish holidays for itself, for certain federally chartered and regulated businesses (such as federal banks), and for Washington, D.C.; otherwise, constitutional authority to create public holidays is a power reserved to the states. Most states also allow local jurisdictions (cities, villages, etc.) to establish their own local holidays. However, as a general rule other institutions, including banks, post offices, and schools, may be closed on federal holidays.
Federal Holidays 2016
No Date Day Holiday
1 January 1 Friday New Year's Day
2 January 18 Monday Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
3 February 15 Monday Washington’s Birthday
4 May 30 Monday Memorial Day
5 July 4 Monday Independence Day
6 September 5 Monday Labor Day
7 October 10 Monday Columbus Day
8 November 11 Friday Veterans Day
9 November 24 Thursday Thanksgiving Day
10 December 26 Monday Christmas Day *  (Observed)
*
If the holiday falls on Sunday, then it is observed on following Monday.